A Record Collector's Guide


NY Beat: Hit and Run

Moon Records - Toast 9/Toast 10 LP/CS, released 1986

Assigned "MR010" number in later Moon catalogues

The NY Beat compilation is one of the most important ska compilations of the whole third wave. This one really got things going. There were quite a few pressed (reportedly 10,000), so it is generally not that expensive a record to find. So go get one. Black vinyl.

Track Listing:

  • The Toasters - Matt Davis
  • Beat Brigade - Armageddon Beat
  • The A-Kings - 7529
  • Cryin' Out Loud - The Distance
  • City Beat - It's Not up to You
  • The Daybreakers - Preying Man
  • The Scene - Walking
  • The Press - Just Another Warning
  • Urban Blight - Escape from Reality
  • Second Step - Opportunity
  • The Toasters - Shocker!
  • The Boilers - Brighter Days
  • Too True - Free S. Africa
  • Floor Kiss - Why Is the Boat So Small

Version Approximate value ($) Scarcity Price Trending
Moon Ska Toast 9/10 Black (10,000) 15-20 Stable

This page was last updated on October 7, 2019.

 Last Moon Ska Album  |  Next Moon Ska Album 
All Moon Ska Albums
Moon Ska Index

Scarcity Score Definition
10 Near impossible: Fewer than 50 copies or publicly sold every few years
8-9 Very rare: 50-199 copies or publicly sold 1-2 times per year
6-7 Rare: 200-499 copies or publicly sold a few times a year
4-5 Medium: 500-999 copies or publicly sold ~10 times a year
1-3 Common: 1000+ copies, readily available, or publicly sold 20+ times a year

Estimated values are based on recent auction results or online sales. Commercial use of images on this site is not permitted. Non-commercial use of images permitted, with attribution to Pette Discographies. All images copyright their respective owners.

About This Site