A Record Collector's Guide


NY Beat: Hit and Run

Moon Records - Toast 9/Toast 10 LP/CS, released 1986

Assigned "MR010" number in later Moon catalogues

The NY Beat compilation is one of the most important ska compilations of the whole third wave.  This one really got things going.  There were quite a few pressed (reportedly 10,000), so it is generally not that expensive a record to find.  So go get one.  Black vinyl.

Track Listing:

  • The Toasters - Matt Davis
  • Beat Brigade - Armageddon Beat
  • The A-Kings - 7529
  • Cryin' Out Loud - The Distance
  • City Beat - It's Not up to You
  • The Daybreakers - Preying Man
  • The Scene - Walking
  • The Press - Just Another Warning
  • Urban Blight - Escape from Reality
  • Second Step - Opportunity
  • The Toasters - Shocker!
  • The Boilers - Brighter Days
  • Too True - Free S. Africa
  • Floor Kiss - Why Is the Boat So Small

Version Approximate value ($)
Moon Ska Toast 9/10 Black (10,000) 15-20
 Last Moon Ska Album  |  Next Moon Ska Album 
All Moon Ska Albums
Moon Ska Index

About This Site